Feelings and masks – letting them out through your characters #writing #GLBTQ

Today welcome to the blog fellow Love is a Mess author, Michael DuPuy:

10965548_409161595919196_296377954_n

Feelings hurt. They’re painful and unless you let them out they become unbearable. I spent a great deal of my life penning them up inside me because at an early age I was very much a cryer. Not just crying whenever it was appropriate. I do believe that I did cry for attention and to manipulate others. As time went on though I learned from those around me that society abhorred a cryer. Particularly when said cryer is a man. (just one reason I’m a feminist) So I shut it out. I overcorrected. I learned to contain every emotion I had and to display those emotions that people liked.

Our conversation continued with pointless yammers and no more. He, like the rest of the world, seemed incapable of piercing through the thin veneer of social affability I presented. After an agonizing time the party moved to the ballroom and the dance began. It was there that I would meet Frederick and acquire a vengeance long overdue.”

To my understanding people would hate me if they saw who I really am. I quickly learned how to construct bars to keep these radical aspects of myself under lock and key. I found myself seemingly removed from everyone. I was in a room full of people and alone in the stagnant air of the dungeon I created. Much like Garret in The Last Mitzvah I lost the key. I had achieved what I wanted though. I was able to make friends and plenty of them. The problem was that I felt like they didn’t actually know me.

My anxiety like Garrets fed my need to maintain the prison. Soon I had worn my masks for so long I forgot about most of them. I forgot that I wasn’t who I presented to the world. Garret found that he needed to turn around and unlock the cage if he were to go forward and he could not bring himself to do so. So he turned to Frederick for help. I’m happy to say that I found a better way. Almost four years ago I found that I could start to pick the locks or help the prisoners break them open.

Slowly but surely I have begun to remove the masks I wear. Often I find that I remove them by way of placing them into a story and allowing a character to take the actions I have wanted to take for so long. I’m happy to say that of those friends I mentioned most all of them are still there by my side. I have also learned to cry again and, think what you will, I happily confess that I cried at the end of Arthur Christmas.

Michael DuPuy, while not investigating epistemological dead ends, cultivates a greater understanding of the folly of man most often by recreating as many of such folly’s as possible through no intent of his own. Michael turned to writing as a method of perhaps extending his sanity and to justify his coffee consumption. If anything this tactic has backfired.

Love is a mess coverLove is a Mess: a Supposed Crimes anthology

Edited by C. E. Case

Stories by A. M. Leibowitz, Adrian J. Smith, Amber Kinsey, Eva Lefoy, Geonn Cannon, L. M. Perrin, Michael DuPuy and Rachael Orman.

Lesbian, Bisexual and Gay anthology, Valentine’s Day theme, romance, contemporary

Publisher: Supposed Crimes, LLC
Release Date:
January 3, 2015 (ebook only)
Length:
Anthology / 35,000 words / 119 pages

Buy Links:

|| Amazon USA || Amazon CA || Amazon UK || Kobo || Smashwords || Barnes & Noble ||

Add to Goodreads

Description

Love is a Mess: A Supposed Crimes Anthology contains eight stories from eight authors on the topic of misfortune at Valentine’s Day. The topics range from the fun of the moment to the power of the eternal. Lesbian, gay, and bisexual characters star in their own love and lust stories—erotic, playful, and thoughtful.

Viral Valentine by L. M. Perrin

When a Valentine’s Day prank goes badly, Paige’s guilt won’t let her watch the victim walk away without a proper apology.


Date Blind by Geonn Cannon

A woman discovers the worst possible blind date scenario when her date turns out to be someone who bullied her in high school.


The Politician and the Pilot by Amber Kinsey

A politician and a pilot make a steamy connection on Valentine’s Day.


Bar Tryst by Rachael Orman

After her roommate blackmailed her into going to an Anti-Valentine’s day party, Vanessa decided to make the best of it especially when the bartender shared that she was looking to have a good time too.


Quarter Life: Energy Feed by Adrian J. Smith

With strange creatures in her path, Faye is determined to get the information she wants no matter the cost.


Property of Cupid by Eva Lefoy

Will an ancient Greek god give up half his powers to love a mere human? Or will Cupid loose his golden arrow, letting Jeremy fall in love with another man?


Private Dance by A. M. Leibowitz

With Alex’s sexy boyfriend, Phin, gone for three weeks, there’s only one option: let his best friend’s kids lead him on a treasure hunt through town to find his Valentine’s gift waiting for him to unwrap.


The Last Mitzvah by Michael DuPuy

One man seeks salvation over love, death, and ice cream.

 

Leave a Reply

