The blacksmith and the snake oil salesman a #MM #historical #beyondfairytales from @shilohsaddler

Fairytale M/M Historical Western Style

 

Eva and I undertook the Beyond Fairytales writing challenge together. After Eva signed up for a Grimm Fairytale I had to as well. We’re writing partners and I couldn’t let her have all the fairytale fun, lol. Except it wasn’t all fun. I was assigned a fairytale I’ve never heard of before: The Old Man Made Young Again.

 

The fairytale had St. Peter as one of the main characters and the man performed miracles. Fairytales usually teach a lesson and this one had to do with relying on God and not trying to do miracles on your own. While that was all fine and dandy writing inspirational romance is so not my thing! Lol. However, with a good character arc, characters always learn and grow so I figured I had the lesson part covered.

 

Writing a historical M/M story I thought it would be funny if I turned the religious aspect on its head and made the preacher the evil one. Fairytales always have a battle between good and evil. Fire and brimstone preachers were common in small western towns in the 1880s so Reverend Barlow came to be.

 

Another common element in many fairytales is the present of magic or magical beings like witches and fairies. It became clear to me that I wouldn’t be able to write my historical western romance without a dose of magic. Being a strong element in the original story it became a strong thread in Bitten by Snake Oil as well. Many of the other Beyond Fairytale stories also have a bit of fantasy including Eva’s Darkest Magic.

SS_BeyondFairtales_BittenbySnakeOil_1333x2000

 

Blurb:

 

Since the death of his wife four years ago, blacksmith Jed Riker has been fighting his attraction to men. When sexy medicine-show man Peter Saint comes into Tumbleweed, Kansas, Jed buys his potion hoping for a cure, but receives vivid erotic dreams of the perfectly built salesman instead.

 

Jed’s uses all his strength and energy to fight the attraction in a town where the local preacher’s hellfire and damnation sermons promise repercussions if he dares to act on them. Can Peter Saint’s potions offer a solution and free the blacksmith to live and love as he wishes and not as his closed-minded neighbors demand?

* * *

SS_BeyondFairtales_BittenbySnakeOil_1333x2000Excerpt:

 

Reverend Barlow’s voice echoed in the quiet room as he preached about the sins of Sodom and Gomorrah, railed about how the immoral would pay and spend eternity in the fiery pits of Hell.

Blood rushed from my face, and I broke out in a cold sweat. Not this sermon again. It seemed the passage was one of the reverend’s favorites. Each time I heard it, I grew even more uncomfortable with my secret desires. My toes curled in my boots, and I prayed no one would notice my odd behavior. I drew a deep breath and looked at my mother-in-law out of the corner of my eye. She did not look concerned, attentive to the reverend’s every word.

 

I did not want to spend eternity in the fiery pits of Hell. I had to repent. I had to change my ways. My heart thrashed wildly, but did not beat loud enough to drown out the reverend as he read verses from the Bible.

 

If I didn’t have to help Martha home, I would have begged sudden illness and left. As it was, bile burned a slow path up my throat and into my mouth. I swallowed, the ball of saliva doing little to ease my discomfort. While the reverend liked to put the fear of God into his parishioners, he seemed to scare me the most. He must know something. How?

 

It didn’t matter. I fully expected Reverend Barlow to call me out, to be publicly ridiculed and ostracized.

 

If I didn’t have to help Martha home, I would have begged sudden illness and left. As it was, bile burned a slow path up my throat and into my mouth. I swallowed, the ball of saliva doing little to ease my discomfort. While the reverend liked to put the fear of God into his parishioners, he seemed to scare me the most. He must know something. How?

 

 

Buy Links:

Decadent | Amazon | Amazon UK | Kobo | iTunes | B&N | Smashwords | ARe

 

About the Author:Shiloh (3)

Shiloh Saddler likes to do research for her steamy romances first hand. She has invented a time machine and travels back to the 19th century on a regular basis. There are experimental settings on her time machine which could propel her into the future and even other worlds. She believes love and a good book makes anything possible.

 

Shiloh Social Media Links:

Blog: http://shilohsaddler.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/shiloh.saddler?fref=ts

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ShilohSaddler

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/shilohsaddler/

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00H6CN5D4

 

Leave a Reply

