I’m a cookie slut! Virtual cookie blog hop #recipe

Welcome to the Virtual Cookie Exchange Blog Hop!

I was tagged in this post.

They got me from the get-go with the word cookie. I mean, who can turn down a cookie, right? Obviously not me!

For the past couple weeks we’ve been noshing on Mexican cookie assortments like this one: 

Don’t judge. They’ve gotten me through a couple of rotten weeks. While my mother was in the hospital, sis and I got our first turn at caregiving for dad. Yeah, we slept in late. Yeah, we let him eat maple bars for lunch. Yes, we drank a whole bottle of moonshine. And ate a whole damn box of cookies.

But today, I’m here to talk to you about a different cookie. See, I signed up for this hop and immediately thought, “I need to make a wine cookie.” Makes perfect sense, right? So I hopped onto Pinterest and found a bunch of cool recipes http://www.pinterest.com/elefoy/eating/

The one I decided to make is this one:

Red Wine Chocolate Truffles

Ingredients
260g dark chocolate (70% cocoa solids), finely chopped
120ml red wine (Cabernet Sauvignon or some other fruity sweet wine)
60ml heavy cream
1 tablespoon butter – ????
cocoa powder, for rolling truffles
Directions
Place the chopped chocolate in a heat resistant bowl and set aside. In a small, heavy bottomed saucepan, combine wine and heavy cream. Bring the mixture just to a boil and remove from heat. Pour over chocolate pieces and let this sit for a few minutes, until the chocolate is melted. Using a whisk, gently stir the until combined. You should get a thick and smooth ganache. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator until completely set, about 2 hours.
Using a melon-baller or a teaspoon, scoop out chocolate balls from the chilled ganache. Roll the balls between the palms of your hands quickly and roll the in cocoa powder and store in refrigerator. Remove the truffles from the refrigerator at least 30 minutes before serving.

Now, first of all I have 2 things to say about this recipe.

1. They never tell you what to do with that 1 Tb of butter. Seriously, where the heck does it go?

2. They don’t come out of the melon baller very well! None of my balls were the same size as a result.

Other than that, and it being my first time at making truffles, they turned out okay. Will I eat them? I dunno. Send me your address and I’ll mail them to you!

Chocolate

sadly, only 63% dark chocolate chips were available on the shelf.

The wine and the cream. I did put the butter in... wasn't sure what else to do with it.

The wine and the cream. I did put the butter in… wasn’t sure what else to do with it.

the ganache

My ganache

Finished balls

The finished balls.

Yeah, it would have been simpler to have the wine!

Lest you think I’m not a foodie of any sort, let me assure you that this is not my first brush with a kitchen mishap. My first book with Decadent Publishing features a woman enamored with raspberry cream puffs. (Recipe in back of book!)

For next week, check out the following bloggers on 12-23-14:

Haley Whitehall

Jennah Scott

Dominique Eastwick

Leave a Reply

