Stepping Stones #newrelease by fellow @decadentpub author @EMorgan2010 #giveaway

eliz morgan blog banner 2Who or what inspired me to become a writer
by Elizabeth Morgan

 

 

I often get a little stuck on topics for guest posts. So, I usually ask my readers what they want me to talk about, because at the end of the day, I would rather talk about something you would be interested in reading. One reader asked; who or what inspired you to become a writer?

 

I wasn’t a big reader as a child. Not in the sense that I was constantly reading, or even going through a couple of books a week. I know, that must seem so terrible with me being an author. It wasn’t that I didn’t enjoy stories; I loved when my mother used to read to me, and I always enjoyed story time in primary school, and I would happily sit and read when the teacher told us to pick a book and read. I loved fairytales. I loved history; I remember one year we were learning about Hercules and all his adventures. I was hooked on Greek Mythology anyway as I used to watch the Hercules TV show. Another year we learnt about Beowulf. I loved being told stories, and through high school I started to read a little more, though mostly it was due to assignments. I actually fell in love with reading at 18 – I know, how terrible – when a work colleague of mine lent me “Moon Called by Patricia Briggs.”  He lent me the book when I was 16 and I had the book for a whole year before I started reading it. But I fell in love with the characters and the world. When I finished it, he lent me the following two books in the series; Blood Bond & Iron Kissed. I read them in a week. So, then he lent me “Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews.” Again, I was in love.

Clearly, I had been reading the wrong books for the first decade of my life. It wasn’t that I wasn’t aware that there were a variety of books out there, different genres to choose from, it’s just I never went looking when I was a child. Something I have made up for since then.

Even though I wasn’t a huge reader I did love to draw, and when I was in school I use to have a spare work book and in that book I would copy out short stories I liked or poems and then draw pictures all around them, like a border. I’m not entirely sure why I did that, but as I got in to my teen years I started making scrap books. When I was fourteen I had a fan fiction site for my fave band at the time, “Busted.” I have no idea if anyone will know who they were. They were around for a very long time, but I liked their music.

When I was sixteen I went to college to study Musical Theatre. I had wanted to act since I was a child, and a lot of assignments we got were to write scripts for shows, or radio etc.

Now, this is where things started to change for me. I have always had an imagination, though it blossomed more once I became active in drama groups at fourteen. During college I kept having ideas for stories, but I kept pushing them to one side until one day in my final year I thought I would try writing a script of my own, just for me, nothing to do with college.

I wrote the script, and then I wrote another, and another. I let my friends read them, and one suggested I try writing a book as the detail that I put in the scripts would never be seen. I nodded, but didn’t take much notice. I carried on writing scripts after I left college, I contact theatre groups etc. but had no luck. And then for about six months I went through a blank phase where I didn’t write anything at all due to changes in my personal life and mainly due to my depression.

I felt very lost at that point, but that is when I found my friends copy of “Moon Called,” and I started reading. Slowly over the next few months the idea to try and write a book became very appealing. My imagination kicked started so I began planning. It took me a good few months before I actually sat down and started writing, but it felt good to have my mind back in top shape.

Nine months later I had finished my first book; Cranberry Blood. I sent it off to a readers group I had joined, got some feedback, and then mentally shredded it to pieces, kept all the things I loved about it, and started again. Five months later the version of Cranberry Blood which was published in 2012 was born. (I have since received the rights back to the book due to the publisher closing, and I am currently going through edits. The book along with its prequel, She-Wolf, has been revamped and repackaged and they will be re-released August 25th.)

So to answer the question; who or what inspired you to become a writer?
The want to create my own stories started at the age of fourteen, but my imagination and enjoyment of stories has been with me since a young child. I’ve always been creative in one way or another, from being a bad drawer to teaching myself to carry a note so I could study Musical Theatre.

When I started writing scripts it dawned on me that even though I loved performing, I would always be someone else character and in someone else’s world. I had an imagination and I was having ideas for my own worlds, I was meeting my own characters, and it just seemed like an awful waste of a gift to me.

So, with that in mind and finally discovering that there was a genre out there that I loved and where my stories and characters might find a home, my interest and heart turned to writing. I have my two friends to thank for their suggestions, so thanks you. You know who you are. A big thank you to fabulous Authors Patricia Briggs and Ilona Andrews for writing world and characters that I fell in love with, these worlds were an inspiration and an eye opener for me. And then I am very thankful to whoever gives me my ideas and has gifted me with a crazy imagination, because as mad as it may sound to everyone else, I believe I have an imagination for a reason, and that reason is to create. So, thank you. J

~ * ~

Thank you for having me over today Eva, and thank you to all of you for stopping by. The reason I am over today is to celebrate the release of my sweet contemporary romance book, Stepping Stones. The story was released on June 17th and is about retracing steps, forgiveness, realization, second chances, family, friends, faith and love. The blurb and excerpt is below for you to peruse. J

If you would be interested in winning a copy of my new release, Stepping Stones or maybe a swag pack, then please do leave an entry on the rafflecopter at the end of the post. 🙂
SteppingStones2_500x750Stepping Stones
(Sweet Contemporary Romance)

By Elizabeth Morgan

Blurb:

There’s nothing like a wedding to bring the family together….

If not for her baby sister’s impending marriage, Margaret West would never return home. But after six long years, she finds herself a maid of honor who must answer to the people she left behind.

If her parents’ interrogation doesn’t drive her to drink, facing her foster brother, Adrian, just might. To make matters worse, her ex-fiancé is the vicar who will conduct her sister’s ceremony.

Everyone demands to know why she ran off. But the more time she spends at home, the more Margaret realizes even she doesn’t know the real reason.

Length: Novella (32,000/91 pages)

Content: Sweet Romance/Contemporary

Publisher: Bono Books

Buy Links:
Bono Books/Decadent Publishing: http://www.decadentpublishing.com/index.php?manufacturers_id=201&osCsid=6c1232251c1e45744bd0b3ee7262f414

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Elizabeth-Morgan/e/B006WR1WLQ/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1401981057&sr=1-2-ent

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Elizabeth-Morgan/e/B006WR1WLQ/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1401981065&sr=1-2-ent
~ * ~

Excerpt:

“When is Aidy getting here?” Jessica grabbed the large bowl of scrambled eggs and brought it closer to her plate.

“I think his flight is due in at three.” My mother placed a dish of bacon on the table and took a seat beside me. “He will be in time for the wedding rehearsal; don’t worry.”

My stomach clenched. “Wedding rehearsal?” I coughed, trying to clear the chunk of toast lodged in my throat. “What wedding rehearsal?”

“Today at four. We’re running through the service.” Jess scooped egg onto her plate. “I told you.”

Nervous laughter bubbled in my throat and try as I may, I couldn’t stop shaking my head. “No.” I patted my chest. “No, you never mentioned a rehearsal.”

“Oh.” She placed the bowl back in the middle of the table. “I could have sworn I did.”

“Nope, you didn’t. Believe me, I would have remembered otherwise.” I grabbed my mug and knocked the coffee back before finishing my piece of toast.

“Well, it’s no big deal.” Edward took the bowl of eggs and helped himself. “Just a quick run-through.”

“Will everyone be there?” Forcing a smile on my face, I looked up at them both, hoping like hell my question would pass as innocent and genuine curiosity.

“Anyone who is involved in the wedding itself will be.”

Great. So that meant Jessica, Edward, the parents, and the bridesmaids, plus me. That left Adrian and…. “Will Vicar Taylor, be there?”

Oh God, did my voice just go higher?

“Yes, Margaret, William will be there. He is the one who is marrying Jessie and Edward, so he needs to be there.” My father skewered some bacon and tomatoes onto his fork.

Grimacing, I reached out and grabbed another piece of toast. “Just a question, Pa.” A stupid one, but a question nevertheless….

“It is normal for people to have wedding rehearsals, Margaret. Just because you—”

Jess picked up the coffeepot. “Does anyone want more coffee?”

I straightened, my focus fixed on Pa. “I’m aware of that.”

“Maggie?”

My father’s shoulders went rigid. He lifted his head and our gazes locked. I didn’t miss the way the muscle in the side of his neck ticked. Arguing with my father in front of Jessica and Edward was not an option, so I looked away.

“Please.” I held out my mug and Jess poured the dark liquid.

I could kick myself. A wedding rehearsal hadn’t even crossed my mind. Having to stand at the altar before William on the actual wedding day would be hard enough, but having to do it twice…my stomach churned.

“So, will Adrian come straight to the church?” Edward cut the awkward silence.

“Yes. He will get a taxi to the church, and then we will bring him and his luggage back here.” My mother held her mug out to Jess.

“Adrian is staying here? Tonight?” I added sugar to my coffee. “Won’t it be crowded? I thought—”

“No more crowded than it was in your childhood.” My father took a bite out of his toast.

More and more good news. Of course he would be staying here; it was his family home after all. I guess, it was stupid of me to hope that he would go to a B&B, but my parents wouldn’t have allowed it even if he did suggest it. I hadn’t seen him in six years, hadn’t spoken to him. And yet, in a couple of hours I would be locked in the same house as him.

~ * ~
Author Bio:

Elizabeth Morgan is a multi-published author of urban fantasy, paranormal, erotic horror, f/f, and contemporary; all with a degree of romance, a dose of action and a hit of sarcasm, sizzle or blood, but you can be sure that no matter what the genre, Elizabeth always manages to give a unique and often humorous spin to her stories.

Like her tagline says; A pick ‘n’ mix genre author. “I’m not greedy. I just like variety.”

And that she does, author of erotic ménage horror, Creak, paranormal erotic horror and UK, US & Australian Amazon best seller (Gay/Lesbian, Fiction, Lesbian), On the Rocks, and erotic romance, US, UK and Spanish Amazon bestseller (Erotica Short Story) Truth or Dare? She also has her hand in self-publishing.

Razel Dazzle, her modern adult retelling of the fairytale Rapunzel, was her first taste of publishing her own stories, and now she has the hang of it, it will definitely not be her last. Look out for more information on her upcoming releases at her website: www.e-morgan.com

Away from the computer, Elizabeth can be found in the garden trying hard not to kill her plants, dancing around her little cottage with the radio on while she cleans, watching movies or good television programmes – Dr Who? Atlantis? The Musketeers? Heck, yes! – Or curled up with her two cats reading a book.


Where to find Elizabeth Online:
Website:
www.e-morgan.com
Blog:
www.xxxxmyworldxxxx.blogspot.com
Twitter: @
EMorgan2010
Goodreads:
http://www.goodreads.com/ElizabethMorgan
Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/elizabeth.morgan.944
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/elizabethm2012/boards/
Blog: (Shared with Dianna Hardy):
http://notjustastiffupperlip.blogspot.co.uk/

 

Rafflecopter:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/767f405/

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Eliz morgan swag pack

 

 

Leave a Reply

